Squadron of Dragonflies at Heathfield

We were walking up the hill at Heathfield when were accompanied by a squadron of dragonflies. There were about six in all and they flew ahead of us and then held back until we caught them up. Again they flew ahead of us and waited for us to catch up.

I decided to find their home and on another visit to Heathfield I located one flying around the small pond as you can see in the picture. I would like to say that I used my DSLR camera on a wide aperture and a fast shutter speed , but I can’t.

dragonfly over small heathfield pond

dragonfly over small heathfield pond

I have a standard digital camera and I set it at 4x zoom its maximum setting!. The dragonfly was moving in a clockwise direction around the pond, so I waited until it arrived at 6 O’ Clock position and then snapped the picture. Unfortunately, the first few times I tried I totally missed the dragonfly. I  spent a full five minutes waiting for the dragonfly to fly into position and then got lucky with the shot.

Hope you enjoy the picture, they are certainly beautiful insects.

3 thoughts on “Squadron of Dragonflies at Heathfield

Leave a Reply

